Groundwater Management Area 14

Groundwater Management Areas were created by HB 1763, which was signed into law during the 79th Texas Legislative Session in 2005. These joint planning groups were created “in order to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, and to control subsidence caused by withdrawal of water from those groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, consistent with the objectives of Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution, groundwater management areas may be created…” (Texas Water Code).

As such, one of the primary objectives of GMAs is to determine “desired future conditions” (DFCs) for use in establishing the “managed available groundwater” (MAG) for the state’s aquifers. There are 16 Groundwater Management Areas in Texas, and Montgomery County is in Groundwater Management Area 14 (GMA 14). Currently, Lone Star GCD’s General Manager, Kathy Turner Jones, serves as the GMA 14 chairman.

There are five groundwater conservation districts in GMA 14. These districts represent 13 of the 21 counties in GMA 14. Three other counties are represented by subsidence districts; five counties are not represented by any type of district.


Past GMA 14 Materials

04.29.16 Minutes
04.29.16 Posted Agenda
10.28.15 Minutes
10.28.15 Posted Agenda
10.28.15 Materials Considered During Adoption of Proposed DFCs
06.24.15 Minutes
05.28.15 Minutes
11.18.14 Minutes
04.30.14 Minutes
06.24.14 Minutes
09.23,14 Minutes


Past GMA 14 Presentations

06.24.15 GMA 14 Prstn – Bill Mullican
05.28.15 GMA 14 Prstn – Mike Thornhill
05.28.15 GMA 14 Prstn – Marty Jones
05.28.15 GMA 14 Prstn – Kevin Spencer


Desired Future Conditions

The official, adopted administrative procedures regarding adoption of Desired Future Conditions (DFCs) may be found here. GMA 14 meetings are held at the LSGCD offices, located at 655 Conroe Park North Drive in Conroe Texas, and are open to the public.


Current DFCs

Texas Water Development Board Transmittal Letter
2016 Final Explanatory Report for GMA 14
Appendix E – Resolution 2016-01-01 Adopting DFC