LSGCD Announces Application for Place on Ballot Open

2018 Election.JPG

The Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District, at its June 2018 meeting, passed resolution 18-002, ordering a special election of directors to be held on November 6, 2018. As the District transitions to a new seven-member elected board, interested candidates must file before the deadline on August 23, 2018, prior to 6 p.m. that day.

In 2017, House Bill 1982, authored by Representative Will Metcalf in the Texas House of Representatives and sponsored by Senator Brandon Creighton in the Texas Senate, amends the District's enabling legislation to provide for a seven-member elected board comprised of: one elected member from each county commissioner's precinct (four total); one elected at-large member by county-wide vote; one elected member by City of Conroe voters; and one elected member by voters of The Woodlands Township. The amendment also prohibits a director from serving more than three full terms.

The District has created a "2018 Election" webpage viewable at There, the public will find a repository of election notices and timelines, election forms, and other general information.

LSGCD has contracted with Montgomery County to provide election services on behalf of the District. The District has entered into a Joint Election Agreement with other political subdivisions holding elections on November 6, 2018. All November 6, 2018 Election voting shall occur at the times and polling places designated by Montgomery County.

Visit to learn more.