• Groundwater Districts of Texas

To date, there are 100 groundwater conservation districts in Texas covering all or part of 173 counties regulating 85% of the groundwater in Texas.

  • Groundwater Management Area 14

The Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District (LSGCD) is one of five groundwater conservation districts that make up the Groundwater Management Area (GMA) 14. These districts represent 13 of the 21 counties in GMA 14.

  • Adopted Groundwater Management Areas of Texas

GMA TX.png

Groundwater Management Areas were created "in order to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, and to control subsidence caused by withdrawal of water from those groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, consistent with the objectives of Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution. There are 16 groundwater management areas in Texas.

  • Major Aquifers of Texas


There are 9 major aquifers in Texas. A major aquifer contains large amounts of water spread across a large area.

  • Minor Aquifers of Texas


Minor aquifers contain smaller amounts of water spread over large areas, or larger amounts of water spread over small areas. The state of Texas has 22 minor aquifers.